Skip to main content
Shopping bag
Overcoming challenges for air analysis of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs)
Webinar
Categories: Webinar Fenceline monitoring Ambient air Environmental Industrial air TD-100 xr Sorbent tube-based UNITY-xr UNITY-ULTRA-xr Thermal desorption

Overcoming challenges for air analysis of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs)

Webinar

Watch webinar

Overcoming challenges for air analysis of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs)

Event Overview

Environmental laboratories face significant challenges for air analysis of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs), which includes the ability to see a wide range of analytes while achieving a high sample throughput. High moisture content of environmental air samples also causes a problem for analysts. Moisture must be eliminated to safeguard the quality of data and instrument uptime.

HAPs are volatile organic compounds (VOCs) ranging in volatility from propene to naphthalene and include polar and chlorinated compounds such as methylene chloride (dichloromethane) as well as non-polar compounds. They are monitored in many industrial and urban environments as a measure of air quality, and are regulated under international standard methods, including US EPA methods TO-17 and 325B.

In this webinar, environmental expert Maya Murshak will show how Merit Laboratories uses automated thermal desorption (TD) technology to overcome these challenges and enhance their analysis of volatile organic air toxics and HAPs, while extending their analysis for semi-volatile organic compounds (SVOCs) such as polyaromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and per-and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS).

What you need to know:

Date: 18 June, 2024

Start times:

Broadcast #1: 18 June - 10 am BST (London) / 11 am CEST (Paris/Berlin) / 2:30 pm IST (New Delhi) / 5 pm SGT (Singapore)

Broadcast #2: 18 June - 10 am PDT (Los Angeles) / 12 pm CDT (Chicago) / 1 pm EDT (New York)

Duration: Approximately 60 minutes

By attending this presentation, you will learn:

  • Best practices for standard methods for monitoring air toxics in air using TD-GC-MS such as US EPA methods TO-17 and 325B for fenceline monitoring
  • How to effectively manage water in your samples
  • How contract labs employ TD–GC–MS technologies to automate and improve their air monitoring workflow, remove moisture, and increase throughput for a wide range of analytes

Who should attend?

  • Researchers aiming to improve their monitoring of organic compounds in air, such as HAPS, soil vapor intrusion or fenceline monitoring
  • Laboratory and project managers specializing in air analysis wanting to increase sample throughput
  • Environmental consultants required to meet standard methods

Presenter

Maya V. Murshak
CEO/Technical Director, Merit Laboratories, Inc.,

Maya is the CEO and Technical Director for Merit Laboratories. She currently oversees all of the laboratory functions. Maya continues to work closely with laboratory certification, accreditation, and project coordination. She has over 36 years of practical laboratory experience based on her extensive analytical work with both chromatography and mass spec systems. Maya is a Chemical Engineer, holding both B.S. and M.S. degrees from Michigan State University. Go Green!

Watch webinar

Overcoming challenges for air analysis of hazardous air pollutants (HAPs)